Leadership

On taking initiative

I’ve been a bit inconsistent in regular blogging, so as a way to reset being in the habit, I was inspired by Ambzitious‘ recent post of a 31-day blog challenge. Below this first post are the 31 days and bit more information about the challenge. I hope you’ll join me in writing a bit each day, whether it’s 400 characters or 4 pages worth of content, it’s great to exercise putting thoughts to the blog.


 

Day 1: Initiative Development

Demonstrating taking initiative is key to any position, student affairs-related or not. Initiative is the difference between doing a job and developing a career. We often look at careers and develop value around career progression, titles, or level or responsibility. Many of us hope that if we just have this job or if I leave this place and move on to the next, I’ll have the experiences I desire. What may be most desirable is what you are able to cultivate within a role. And that takes an ability to see opportunities for initiative and act on it.

When I started my hall director position, I saw myself staying in it for two years, three years tops. How much could I possibly learn from this entry-level position? When year three began to roll around, I found I finally hit my stride. I couldn’t leave at this point in time. Each year built upon the last of carefully crafting staff development opportunities for professional and para-professional staff, finally knowing my building culture, and establishing enough relationships on campus to really begin to collaborate on some unique programs. If I had bought into a myth that a certain number of years was the designation to move on or that an entry-level role had limitations on my impact on campus, I would have missed out on years of growth, relationship building, and program development. If you have the opportunity to take your work deeper, to add value, to contribute in such a way that the job description has to be rewritten, then you’ve found initiative. And it would be foolish to waste the opportunity.

I recently had a long conversation with a fellow professional, Jeremiah Shinn, about maximizing our work. As an AVP, he looks to elevate those who are, “the Lebron James of their current role.” Now, if you are a Clevelander, I’m sorry for the analogy, but the point being, are you the absolute best at what you do? And often within that leads to where and how and for how long to take initiative. Develop depth where you stand to be able to experience the breadth in your career that you’re seeking.

Release yourself from conventional wisdom to see what potential lies where you are. When I finally began to see any role I’ve been in for the possibilities instead of just the responsibilities, that is when I have hit my stride, been most satisfied with my work, and watched the most doors open. We are quick to quantify and look for easy formulas to simply career decisions. The reality of it is that developing our careers is complex and takes more than a number of years or particular combination of positions to find success.

What can get you closer to being the Lebron James of your current role? How have you created depth in your existing position?

 


The 31 Day Challenge

As referenced above, I found out about the challenge via Twitter. Searching for a bit more information, I found the following blog that described the challenge to be focused on society. I will be focusing my posts more on higher education student affairs as this fits within my blog themes and writing. I will be coming back to this page and updating links as I complete the challenge.

Other Student Affairs blogs completing the challenge:

Ambzitious

Lizzie Dement

Send me a tweet or comment below if you are participating and I will be happy to add you to the 31 Day Challenge blog roll.

31 Day Blog Challenge Themes:

1. Initiative Development

2. Time Management

3. Self-Identity

4. Getting to Know Yourself

5. Goal Setting

6. Community Engagement

7. Diversity Development

8. Partnership

9. Followership

10. Leadership

11. Why a Resume

12. Important Resume Requirements

13. Things to Take Off a Resume

14. Why Social Media

15. Why LinkedIn

16. The Theory of Exceptional Professional Development

17. What Level of Education is Needed

18. Short-Term Plan

19. Long-Term Plan

20. The Importance of Physical Conditioning

21. Proper Nutrition

22. Finding Your Passion

23. Paying it Forward

24. The Importance of Rest

25. The Importance of Hobbies

26. The Balance of Fun

27. Importance of Saving Money

28. Importance of Saving Money Long-Term

29. Treating Yourself

30. The Factors of Traveling

31. Take a Vacation

6 thoughts on “On taking initiative

  1. Seeing a role for its possibilities and not its responsibilities…I love that phrase. I may use that for something down the road 🙂 Thanks for your wisdom, Renee- and I’m excited to see where the next 30 days take you!

  2. Pingback: What drains our time | renee piquette dowdy

  3. Pingback: Small Hinges | renee piquette dowdy

  4. Pingback: A daily goal-setting habit | renee piquette dowdy

  5. Pingback: The Fourth Quadrant | renee piquette dowdy

Leave a comment